c6 angola project


September 8, 2007 (Graziela Moretto)
May 19, 2008, 9:27 am
Filed under: Correspondence

Following is a letter I wrote to a good friend and colleague in Brazil.

From: Jeremy Xido

Date: September 28, 2007 11:39:53 AM EDT

To: Graziela Moretto

Subject: film angola-portugal

So Grazi

I have been researching some on the internet and waiting for some books that I ordered to arrive.  I have also been in touch with people in Portugal about setting up meeting for when i am there in October.

At the moment the very basic idea is something like this:

4 story-lines that interweave.

1) A handful of old Portuguese men that fought in the Colonial Wars in Africa as commandos and now meet in Lisbon talking about the old days and the new ones.  I am taking this basic idea from what I read about a book from Antonio Lobo Antunes calles Fado Alexandrino.  And perhaps from Lobo Antunes’ life itself – he was a doctor in Angola before and during the war.  I haven’t read the book yet.  I am waiting for it to come in the mail.  Below is more information about his book, him and the commando units.  (I will see if I can meet Lobo Antunes when I am there in October…)

2) Young woman or maybe a brother and sister from Angola that came to Lisbon in the 90s fleeing the civil war.  Arrived without parents.  Somehow I have in my head that she goes back to Angola.  We follow her back.  But I am not sure about this.  I want to interview people when I am there to find out what stories actually exist.   I am thinking about going to the neighborhood Cova da Moura on the outskirts of Lisbon.  I think there are lots of hairdressers there. I included links to photos and articles below.

3) Two journalists.  One Brazilian and one North American or European.  My thought about them is that they covered Angola during the civil war. Maybe had an affair.  Haven’t seen each other for a long time. Both are back covering different stories.  The North America is covering the Chinese businesses rebuilding the country.  The Brazilian is running a media campaign against AIDS and HIV on the state television channel Nação Coragem (article about it below).  I think the American has stayed in Africa over the years traveling to different conflict zones and the Brazilian has been back in Brazil – This being her first time back in a long time.   Maybe the American has HIV.  Not sure about this though.  May be too much…

4) A chinese business man.  Maybe someone running a construction site.  Working in a construction site.  Or someone dealing directly with the Oil business.  (long NYTimes article below as PDF file – the sort of thing the American Journalist would write actually).

This is all a lot of territory and it might make more sense to just focus on one or two of the stories.  I am not sure yet.  I am fascinated how they all exist at the same time and sort of bump up against each other in time and space.  And how they might effect one another.  I will read the novels and history books that are in the mail and when i get to Portugal, I will start to interview people and see how the stories develop or what i find out….

when you get a chance, let me know what you think.

hugs

jeremy

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

